Last updateTue, 17 Apr 2018 11pm

Stuart Robertson, GG to receive prestigious Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology

The Accredited Gemologists Association (AGA) is pleased to announce that Stuart Robertson has been awarded the 2011 Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology.

Stuart’s interests in gemology formed during the mid 1980s while studying criminalistics at the University of Illinois, Chicago. While attending the university, he worked for an independent jewelry store in Chicago’s Hyde Park neighborhood.

The Accredited Gemologists Association has named Stuart Robertson, GG the recipient of the 2011 Antonio C. Bonanno Award for Excellence in Gemology.
In 1986, his plans to join the Chicago Police Department and pursue a career as a crime scene investigator took a detour when his then employer suggested that he study gemology. Stuart would stay in that retail position for nearly a decade more, earning his Graduate Gemologist Diploma in 1993 and becoming the staff gemologist.

In 1998 Stuart was appointed the Research Director for Gemworld International, Inc, publishers of the acclaimed pricing periodical “The GemGuide.” In addition to these duties, Stuart designs and directs special research projects for Gemworld and its clients. These projects involve analyzing market and production trends and charting the influence that treatments can have on the marketability of specific gem products.

Stuart is one of the world’s leading researchers and gemstone pricing experts. He has devoted his career to the advancement of gemological knowledge through his writings and personal consulting with industry members. He has also presented lectures on various aspects of gemology in the U.S. and abroad in both public and industry forums.

The Antonio C. Bonanno award - named in honor of the AGA’s Founding Father - was created to recognize people who have made significant contributions to the gemological field. This year’s award recognizes Stuart Robertson for his many contributions to the gemological community. He is also acknowledged for his willingness to assist his many colleagues by compiling pricing data and researching market trends for their academic research, industry presentations and publications.

The award - which includes a check for $2,000 - not only calls attention to the outstanding contributions of the recipient, but underscores the responsibility of the international gemological community to encourage and reward ongoing research, education and dissemination of information.

Previous winners of this prestigious award include C.R. Beesley (USA), Robert Crowningshield (USA), Richard Drucker (USA), Henry Hanni (Switzerland), Alan Hodgkinson (Scotland), Richard Hughes (Hong Kong), Alan Jobbins (UK), John Koivula (USA), Antoinette Matlins (USA), Shane McClure (USA), James Shigley (USA) and Christopher Smith (USA).

The Bonanno Award will be presented at AGA’s Gala Dinner Dance at the conclusion of its Tucson Conference, Wednesday, February 2, 2011, from 7:00 – 11:00 pm, at the Marriott University Park Hotel.

For additional information about the conference and dinner, or to register or purchase tickets, go to www.accreditedgemologists.org or call 619-501-5444. Sponsorships to support the work of the AGA and the Bonanno Award Gala Dinner are available at $2,000 per table (for 10).  For more information on sponsorships, contact Antoinette Matlins at www.AntoinetteMatlins.com or call 802-457-5145.